How To Pitch Someone Like A Pro

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJan 21, 2019

--

Image Credit: Jack Daly

Whatever your life’s work is, you’ll have to pitch at some point.

You might have to pitch a mentor, an advisor, a supplier, a friend, a doctor, your family, your business or even your plumber on why they should charge you less.

Life is one big series of pitches.

I get pitched on a daily basis from friends, colleagues and complete strangers. Many of the pitches are poor and don’t achieve the desired result.

I thought I’d write a quick how-to guide for pitching. It’s dedicated to the person that pitched me three times in the last week on LinkedIn and got upset. I want to help you and this article is the best way I know how.

Here’s how to pitch like a pro:

It’s not about your interests; it’s about theirs.

Having the opening line “This is my business and here’s what we do” is the worst opening line.

Make the opening line about them and why you reached out to them above everyone else. Give an example of their work in the opening line. Mention 1–2 points on why that changed you for the better.

Too many people start pitches with talking about themselves.

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb