How to Preserve Wellbeing during Busy Work Periods

Keep yourself and your teams sane during busy work weeks.

Aytekin Tank
The Startup
Published in
7 min readFeb 2, 2022

--

Photo by Campaign Creators on Unsplash

Josh sat down at his desk holding a hot cup of coffee.

“Are you sure you want to drink that?” Harriet asked. “It’s 6:00 pm, that would keep me up all night.”

“That’s exactly the plan, my friend. Tonight’s going to be a late one. And the same goes for the rest of the week.”

“Deadline?”

“Deadline” he nods. “There’s a bug in one of the apps and we’re launching a new product at the end of the week. So, I’m not going anywhere.”

“Alright, give me three hours. I need to pick the kids up from my Mum’s and I’ll log back in to help once I get them to bed. In the meantime, go get some fresh air and put that coffee down.”

_

I’m not a big proponent of “busy” work schedules. In fact, I’ve previously explained how doing nothing at all can lead to better results.

It’s critical that leaders implement systems and cultures that value downtime and allow for sustainable progress to be made, without leading workers to burnout.

But I’m also realistic. There will be times when being stretched to full capacity is inevitable.

--

--

Aytekin Tank
The Startup

Founder and CEO of www.jotform.com || Bestselling author of Automate Your Busywork. Find more at https://aytekintank.com/ (contact: AytekinTank@Jotform.com)