How to Properly Kill Your Next Presentation

The 4 phases of a presentation and how to deliver your best one so far

Rick Veronese
The Startup

--

Disclaimer: you don’t have to be a singer (or a rockstar) to follow these tips.

In the summer of two years ago, I gave one of the shittiest design presentations I could ever give.

I got nervous, I didn’t know what to say, I hated it, and I thought I was about to die. I understand that’s a bit of a stretch, but if I really knew what dying feels like, that was it. I’m not at all surprised that public speaking is something people fear more than death.

A little bit of context for you:

This was my first “real” presentation. I joined the company just a couple of months prior and up until then, coming from a freelance background, I had only presented my work to one or two people max. So there was no speaking in front of 30 people involved in doing that. Ever. Also, English is not my first language, so I’ve also always preferred written communication over speaking and presenting.

Luckily, I didn’t have to present anything at this time, my teammate would take care of it, or so I thought. The CEO was in the room, simply taking notes. However, at one point he asked my colleague to go through the pages that our team had built, and explain…

--

--

Rick Veronese
The Startup

Helping you remove chronic stress & add 10 hours of freedom to your week | Writing about Psychology, Productivity & Habits | Dad x2 | Husband | Runner & Lifter