How To Protect Yourself From ‘Ambush Managers’

You suddenly get an invitation to your manager’s office for an unscheduled meeting…

Edward Iftody
The Startup

--

Photo on Visualhunt

You suddenly get an invitation to your manager’s office for an unscheduled meeting. You walk into the room and see a Human Resources representative already seated. You sit down and your manager starts the meeting by explaining that the HR representative is here as a ‘witness’ or a ‘referee’ or ‘to represent the interests of the company’.

Uh oh, sounds like a serious case of Ambush Management. If my suspicion is right, your future career could be in for a significant ‘correction’. So, what should you do next?

Ambush management, up close and personal

In 1999, I was a new employee working in the back office of a mutual fund processing office in Vancouver. I’d previously worked for a major hotel chain, so I quickly discovered I had (in my personal opinion) significantly superior customer service skills than my peers working alongside me in the back office.

--

--

Edward Iftody
The Startup

Edward Iftody is a Communication Coach, author of Surviving Work, a veteran of the Canadian fin-tech industry and a blockchain enthusiast.