How to Put Together a UX Research Portfolio Presentation

Noor Ali-Hasan
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJul 28, 2020

--

I get the sense that designers spend a lot of time in design school learning how to represent themselves and their work through their portfolios. I wish I could say that the same is true for researchers. And it often shows when I sit through research candidates’ portfolio reviews. Regardless of how much time you spent (or didn’t spend) in school learning about UX portfolios, it’s a critical part of the UXR interview process and one that you should be prepared for. In this post, I’ll share some tips for how to structure your presentation, mistakes to avoid, and talk about whether as a UXR you need an online portfolio.

How to structure your portfolio presentation

Before preparing your portfolio presentation, make sure that you check with your recruiter to see if the company you’re applying with has a specific brief for your presentation. In general, you’re usually given about 45 minutes to an hour to talk about your work. I advice candidates to leave 10–15 minutes of time for questions from the interview panel. The following structure should work for UXR portfolio reviews at most tech companies:

  • Introduction. You should give the panel an overview of your background. Where did you go to school? What did you study? Where have you worked and in what roles? For more junior…

--

--

Noor Ali-Hasan
The Startup

I’m a UX research lead at Google, where I help teams design and build desirable and easy to use products. Outside of work, I love art, Peloton, and Lego.