How to Quit Your Job Effectively

So it serves your future goals and doesn’t waste your precious time and energy.

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
5 min readFeb 17, 2020

--

Image Credit: Getty Images/GeorgeFrey

What have I done? Queue Beethoven music.

About a year ago, I wrote a letter to incompetent leaders from millennials. It was supposed to inspire and shine the spotlight on poor leadership and how we can fix it.

The other night, an email I received scared me. It was a long email from a millennial who was about to quit their job. They thought I’d be proud of them and perhaps celebrate. (I won’t share the whole email because a lot of it doesn’t demonstrate my point.) Here’s the part that matters:

I’m still quite bitter about my experience but I’m anticipating my departure. I can’t wait to literally drop the mic and walk out.

But what will be better is when I’m invited back as a consultant in two years to fix the culture that they thought they had already perfected.

Thank you so much for your article! I needed that ammunition to get these words out of my head.

I plan to articulate my expressions to the senior executives and if I can’t meet with our CEO in person … I will write it to him in a letter. If he ignores my letter, I might just have to find a tv station to share my opinion. I mean the investors are…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb