How To Recover From Losing Your Job In 5 Steps

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
6 min readApr 30, 2019

--

Image Credit: iStock

When I lost my job, people kept asking me how I was doing. Without being rude, I’d reply “I’m doing fine, thanks.”

People would ask me how I recovered from losing my job, given that when I got the job, it was all over social media and gained a lot of attention.

Rather than repeat myself over and over, here’s how I recovered from losing my job in 5 steps:

1. No contact with former colleagues

Resist talking to your former colleagues about the good times as it will only make you more upset and prolong your recovery. Let people know you need some time to be by yourself or don’t respond at all.

2. Ice cream

Eat some ice cream and reward yourself for all the hard work you did along the journey.

My personal favorite is Vanilla Ice Cream because it’s plain and you have to think deeply while eating it to appreciate its beauty. These thoughts are much better than the thoughts of losing your job or the fear of what comes next.

3. Be fired by a terrible boss

Terrible is an understatement, really. Be fired by a dictator whose sole purpose is to crush your dreams and serve their own selfish interests, is more accurate. Show…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb