How To Retain More From The Books You Read

Making sure you get the most out of reading.

Darius Foroux
The Startup
Published in
5 min readMay 30, 2019

--

When I grew up, it wasn’t cool to read. These days, every coffee shop is packed with folks that are reading a book while sipping on a latte.

That’s a great shift. I’m also reading more books than ever. But here’s the thing: It’s not about how many books you read, it’s about how much you retain from what you read.

Most people I talk to don’t have a reading strategy. They just pick up something and start reading. I used to be like that. But now, that’s unthinkable to me. Sure, you might read a novel for entertainment.

But think about it; why do you even read a non-fiction book in the first place? Exactly, you want to get something out of it. You want to learn things that you can apply in your life to grow. That’s the whole point.

I’m often asked: “How do you remember information you read in books?” In this post, I’ll explain my system.

1. Have A Purpose

Before I even think about which books I’m going to read, I think about what I’m trying to achieve. I strongly believe that the content of books should align with what’s going on in your life. I’ll give you an example.

--

--

Darius Foroux
The Startup

I’m no longer publishing on Medium. Join my free weekly newsletter here: dariusforoux.com/wise-wealthy