How to Turn Down a Freelance Client Without Burning Bridges

The art of saying “no thank you” without ruining relationships

Sophia Lee
The Startup
4 min readMay 17, 2019

--

Photo by Brendan Church on Unsplash

There’s an art to saying “no thank you.”

If you’re a freelancer, there will come a time and place when you’ll have to practice it, whether it’s with an existing or potential client. I know — the idea of rejecting a client (and not having it be the other way around) seems inconceivable. As does the thought of turning down an opportunity to make more money.

However, it’s important to remember that one of the huge benefits of freelancing is that you get to choose who you do or don’t want to work with. Here’s how I recommend dealing with clients who fall into the latter category in a professional way:

#1 Ask yourself “why”

I’ve turned down potential clients for a variety of reasons: once, it was because I didn’t feel like I was the best fit for their business. Another time, it was because I noticed red flags and didn’t want to risk digging myself into a bad situation.

No matter the reason, pinpointing the “why” will make it easier to explain to the client. Remember: there’s no wrong or right reason for saying no. This is your business, so you get to call the shots — don’t be afraid to trust your gut instincts.

#2 Choose your method of communication

When I was researching the best ways to turn down a client, a lot of resources recommended having the conversation in person or over the phone.

I disagree.

I think the nature of the communication depends on the relationship you have with the individual or company, as well as your reason for not continuing business with them. For instance, with a potential client I’ve never worked with before, I always choose to send an email over a phone call. A call feels too personal, and it feels awkward to have a tough conversation with someone I haven’t built trust with.

On the other hand, if I were to end a relationship with a client I’ve had for several years and am on good terms with, I would feel comfortable giving them a call to talk things through. You decide what feels right!

#3 Follow best practices

There are general guidelines I follow when writing a “no thank you” email or preparing for that conversation with a client. Here are a few you may find useful:

  • Always thank them for the opportunity and their time.
  • Don’t make accusations (i.e. “You didn’t really make expectations clear…”)
  • Allow opportunities for negotiation, where possible.
  • Be clear, but also gentle, with your phrasing.

For inspiration, below is a real email I sent to a potential client. We made it as far as the contracting stage, but it became clear throughout the process that we had misaligned expectations around what my role would be. We ended up not working together, but I felt good about how the situation was handled.

#4 Extend a helping hand

You’ll notice the offer I made in the last sentence of that email. I personally like to end these interactions on a positive note and extend a helping hand. Of course, this only applies to situations where things ended amicably — if the client you interacted with was unpleasant or represented a really toxic company, you don’t want to make this offer. Also keep these two tips in mind:

  • This is NOT a guarantee that you’ll find a successful replacement — you’re simply offering to put out feelers and share any relevant referrals that come through. Don’t make promises you can’t keep.
  • When you do pass along a referral, be transparent with both the freelancer and the client. If you noticed any quirks about the client, be a friend and share your observations with the freelancer. If you haven’t seen any of the freelancer’s work, let the client know and simply make the introduction.

While it’s challenging to do, turning down a client doesn’t have to be a super awkward or painful process. It can actually feel quite liberating to know that you made a smart strategic decision on behalf of yourself and your business. Good luck!

--

--