How to Write a Successful Email Pitch

Never waste time struggling to write an email pitch again.

Anna Winterbell
The Startup

--

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Writing an email pitch is one of the fundamentals of doing business. Essentially, it is an online version of traditional pitching, where one presents to a client about their product or service and convinces them to purchase it.

While this may be relatively more convenient than personally going to the client’s office to present, there are also certain limitations. For one, depending on your writing skill, it may be more difficult to convey emotion across. With the thousands of email pitches that your client receives, it is also not easy to make yours stand out.

Writing an email pitch isn’t hard. But writing an effective one is.

Don’t fret! An email pitch can be broken down into several components: the introduction, objective, selling point, and attachments. Having a good understanding of these elements should allow you to convey a persuasive message within the email and hopefully achieve your aim.

To show you how easy writing a basic pitch can be, let me illustrate with an example as I go along.

As with every email, make sure you start off by addressing the client with their proper salutations.

Dear Mr. Todd,

Introduction

First impressions are very important, especially in emails. Within the first sentence, you need to capture the attention of your client.

Write the most compelling argument you can use to sell yourself.

Dear Mr. Todd,

I am Mrs. Lovett, the best piemaker in town. In the past 6 months, I have sold over 10,000 pies and have more than 300 customers a day visiting my pie shop.

Objective

Get straight to the point and let the reader know what you want. Whether you are offering a service or a product, or even a collaboration, make your objective clear to your client.

Dear Mr. Todd,

I am Mrs. Lovett, the best piemaker in town. In the past 6 months, I have sold over 10,000 pies and have more than 300 customers a day visiting my pie shop.

I understand that you are a reliable meat supplier and I would like to partner with you to sell the most delicious pies.

Selling point

After presenting your objective for writing your email, you should move on to the selling point which differentiates you from other competitors. Always ask yourself not what they can do for you, but what you can do for them.

Dear Mr. Todd,

I am Mrs. Lovett, the best piemaker in town. In the past 6 months, I have sold over 10,000 pies and have more than 300 customers a day visiting my pie shop.

I understand that you are a reliable meat supplier and I would like to partner with you to sell the most delicious pies.

I can take care of all business operations as long as you provide a consistent supply of meat at a competitive price. The profits will be shared 50:50.

You must give them a good enough reason to want to accept your pitch. The client won’t accept a pitch that doesn’t benefit them.

Additional Information

Anything you add to the email must serve a purpose. If including your resume or cover letter doesn’t benefit your pitch, then don’t (unless requested by the client). Additional information should help you to persuade the client or provide further details of your pitch.

Dear Mr. Todd,

I am Mrs. Lovett, the best piemaker in town. In the past 6 months, I have sold over 10,000 pies and have more than 300 customers a day visiting my pie shop.

I understand that you are a reliable meat supplier and I would like to partner with you to sell the most delicious pies.

I can take care of all business operations as long as you provide a consistent supply of meat at a competitive price. The profits will be shared 50:50.

Attached is one of my mouthwatering pies, so you can see for yourself how our partnership can potentially be mutually beneficial to the both of us.

Signing off

After putting in so much effort to write a good pitch, don’t just throw it all away by ending sloppily. Take a line or two to thank the reader for their time, and remember to leave your contact information so that the receiver can reach out to you easily.

Dear Mr. Todd,

I am Mrs. Lovett, the best piemaker in town. In the past 6 months, I have sold over 10,000 pies and have more than 300 customers a day visiting my pie shop.

I understand that you are a reliable meat supplier and I would like to partner with you to sell the most delicious pies.

I can take care of all business operations as long as you provide a consistent supply of meat at a competitive price. The profits will be shared 50:50.

Attached is one of my mouthwatering pies, so you can see for yourself how our partnership can potentially be mutually beneficial to the both of us.

Thank you for your kind attention and I hope to hear from you soon. For more information, you may check out my website at mrslovettspieshop@email.com or contact me at 667778899.

When signing off, including your position in the company may also help to improve your credibility, especially if you are pitching to high profile clients.

Yours Sincerely,

Mrs. Lovett

Chief Pie Baker at Mrs Lovett’s Pie Shop

Takeaways

To sum it up, these 3 elements are crucial in writing an effective email pitch:

  1. Introduction (I am…)
  2. Objective (I want…)
  3. Selling point(I can…)

Dear…

I am…

I want…

I can…

Attached is…

Thank you…

And there you have it! A foolproof structure for a standard business email pitch. Being able to get your points across in an efficient, succinct manner is more likely to get you a response from the person you are emailing.

With the increasing digitalizing of business operations, email pitches are likely to be even more common in the future. Learning how to write a good email pitch is essential to make you stand out.

--

--

Anna Winterbell
The Startup

What I did for love. Part-time writer, part-time student, and full-time dreamer.