How to Write Poetry on Instagram That Is Visually Appealing and Still Focused on the Writing

Gregory D. Welch
The Startup
Published in
7 min readNov 23, 2019

--

I never dreamed I’d write poetry, much less describe myself as a poet. That all changed, of course, when I had the first of two classes in my undergrad with the amazing Nikky Finney.

I still have a draft of a poem I wrote during this time, with her bright red pen markings and notes covering the page. It’s a nearly sacred item to me, a testament of so many truths that drive me and push me forward in writing, in creativity, in expression and the constant personal and professional evolution of all of this.

Returning to poetry

I stepped away from my pursuit of poetry for a while to chase down a Master’s of Science in Political Science and wrote only so many poems here and there (and always just for me) during that time.

I teased and told people I wrote poetry to keep my head straight, to relax and meditate. And in many ways that was and is true.

Then after I had surgery recently, I found myself picking up where I had left off on an Instagram account dedicated to my poetry, and scribbling new poems.

My heart found a new rhythm from the echos of an old one and my passion was reignited. It was like I had never stepped away.

--

--

Gregory D. Welch
The Startup

I Ghostwrite Educational Email Courses for Innovative Founders & Digital Marketers going from Analog to Augmented Content | AI Strategist & Ghostwriter