How to Write Unique Affirmations

Rachel Havekost, M.Sc.
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJan 14, 2020

--

After writing affirmations for 5 years, I’ve upped my game.

photo by Carolyn on Unsplash

I started writing affirmations in 2015 during my outpatient therapy program for eating disorder recovery. My self-esteem and body image were, as you can imagine, at an all-time low, and I had never heard of affirmations, let alone saying something nice about myself outloud.

I grew up in a society that taught me to be humble, to hate my body, and never brag about what an amazing person I was. That would just be self-serving and arrogant.

But how could thinking, “I’m disgusting” and “I’m such a worthless piece of shit” make me a productive part of society? How could looking in the mirror and saying, “no wonder you’re such a failure” allow me to function as a friend, coworker, or lover?

Was it possible society had it all wrong, and rather than encouraging young adults to hate themselves so they worked harder, they should be encouraging us to love ourselves so we contribute better?

I didn’t know it back in 2015, but writing affirmations would change my life.

photo by Rachel from Copeholic

--

--

Rachel Havekost, M.Sc.
The Startup

Author / Speaker. Destigmatizing mental health with radical transparency. Hoping to meet you in the deep end. Author of bestseller “Where the River Flows.”