How training my brain to focus helped me to build two profitable businesses

A 15-minute guide to getting your life back.

Ali Mese
The Startup

--

visual credit

Crowds consume information. Those who decide what crowds consume create.

You might as well carry on with the bottomless finger-scrolling and continue to devour what the elite class has created for you today.

But if you ever intend to define what crowds consume, and thereby define the marketplace, you have to master the ability to stay away from the crowds and move over to the creators’ side.

That’s where the elite production happens. And it requires long, uninterrupted hours of work in intense concentration.

I wrote down the above notes in my journal in 2016. It was soon after being hugely inspired by Adam Grant’s story, which I had read in Cal Newport’s popular book, Deep Work.

In 2014, Adam Grant’s ability to create at an absurdly high rate for his field made him the youngest full

--

--

Ali Mese
The Startup

Founder/Owner: Start it up + Curious + Geek Culture. I also write essays that help you get smarter at building your thing https://GrowthSupply.com