How Working for a Large Corporation Helped Inspire My Creativity

They will milk you for everything if you let them

Dylan Hughes
The Startup
Published in
4 min readSep 9, 2020

--

Produce shelves in a grocery store
Photo by nrd on Unsplash

I have worked at one of the world’s largest grocery stores for three and a half years now. Because people with lots of money like taking legal action, I will refrain from naming the company. I also still work there. But if you sift through my old writing, you can figure it out.

I worked my ass off this summer. Well, some of the time at least. After three summers of working full-time at this company, plus part-time during the school years, the idea of working full-time again sickened me.

For the majority of the summer, I have worked 30 hours a week. At certain times, though, I worked more. More than 40 hours, even. Because that’s just the kind of employee I am!

I am the type of person to stay until the job gets done and gets done correctly. Midway through the summer, my supervisor (a great friend of mine) got promoted to another area in the store. I went from being the no. 2 to the no. 1. But it wasn’t a promotion. I took on extra work and responsibility for no extra pay.

My department sees a lot of turnover and due to COVID, absence points are no longer a thing, meaning some take advantage and call off often. This puts more pressure on me to get stuff…

--

--

Dylan Hughes
The Startup

Three-time author writing on whatever interests me. Follow me on Instagram: chyaboidylan