Data binding for Web Components in just a few lines of code

Danny Moerkerke
The Startup
Published in
7 min readAug 19, 2019

--

It’s not rocket science and Virtual DOM is usually overkill anyway.

Photo by John Barkiple on Unsplash

Earlier this year I wrote an article in which I claimed that Web Components will eventually replace frontend frameworks.

It generated quite some response, more than I could have hoped for and it gave me some interesting opportunities. Lots of people agreed with me, others were more critical and a few people thought I was completely out of my mind and should be banned from writing code forever. In general, good points were being made on both sides.

The main criticism was that the existing frameworks enable a declarative way of writing views through data binding, which is something native Web Components do not provide out of the box. This in itself is a valid point, but nevertheless data binding is easy to achieve for Web Components as I will demonstrate in this article.

The case for declarative data binding

Data binding was first made popular by frameworks like Angular, Backbone and Ember and is now more or less the de facto way of writing views. It enables the “view as a function of data” which means that whenever some data changes, the associated view will “automatically” update.

--

--

Danny Moerkerke
The Startup

I write about what the modern web is capable of, Web Components and PWA, creator of https://whatpwacando.today