What to Do When Job Hunting Becomes a Full-Time Job?

Ivana Džamić
The Startup
Published in
5 min readAug 16, 2019

well, don’t be a quitter.

We’ve all been there. Searching for the right job, clients, sending endless cover letters, emails, and a whole bunch of nothing in return. Well, besides the: “We’re sorry to inform you, but we’ve decided to move on with other candidates.” It’s okay that you’re thinking of giving up your job search at this point. God knows I give up a few times a day. But, I never actually do, and I’m going to give you solid reasons why you shouldn’t be giving up on anything in life, including finding the perfect job.

A few years ago, when I’ve just graduated from psychology, I thought to myself: “Oh wow, I’m a psychologist now, people will wait in lines to offer me a job.” The reality was slightly bit different. I didn’t have a clue about what I was going to do next. And I know people (read — my fellow psychologists) like to say that making long-term goals is what keeps you ahead of everyone, but I was always a bit of a Buddhist when it comes to that.

Embrace the present and make short-term goals to keep your motivation on point.

Even the 23-year-old me back then knew that the future is not something I could hold onto. I decided it was about time to step out of my comfort zone and write down all the skills I possess, besides having a diploma.

Until this happened, I didn’t quite realize I could write and speak fluent English; I became more invested in writing articles online where I could influence people with my words. I’ve come to make peace with the fact that I might never work as a psychologist, but there was a whole new world for me to explore — a world of digital nomads.

Now, let me start this by saying that my parents weren’t as excited when their daughter announced that she is not a regular “9 to 5” type of daughter but more of an “I want to be my own boss” kind of a woman. It was my 100% my choice switching to freelance and doing things my way.

Every step you take towards living an authentic life is worth it.

I’ve recently found an impressive quote scrolling down my Instagram feed: “ You once dreamed of being where you are now.” I even use it as wallpaper now, and I got a picture to prove it. It also got me to think that we don’t realize the importance of being present in the moment and embracing we’ve accomplished so far. We rather focus on what we could’ve done instead of how far we’ve come.

Photo by me

You are your most significant support system.

I know you might be thinking, it’s easy for her to be introspective and help herself because she is a psychologist after all. In all honesty, it’s the same. I’m a human being with the same struggles, fears and expectations from myself. The one thing I’ve discovered over the years is that it genuinely motivates me to help others find their path.

With that said, we’ve finally reached the point where I’ll give you practical advice on how not to give up on finding a job that will boost you with confidence and energy again.

Pick A Day of The Week When You Will Not Be Looking For a Job

It’s easy to get caught up with all the cover letters, resumes and information that you want to send during the week. It may even seem chaotic at one point, and you’ll find yourself cursing the day you left your first job.

You should know, that’s perfectly fine and to be expected. Leave all the applications aside, they’ll wait for you in the morning with a fresh start, a nice cup of coffee and positive thoughts. You can’t find a job if you don’t let go of the pressure at least for a day.

Shift Your Mindset

You’re probably feeling too stressed about your job hunt to even care about shifting your mindset, but believe me; it will do wonders for you. There was a fantastic article I’ve recently read focusing on distinguishing the difference between skills and strengths and why it’s crucial to talk more about your strengths.

You are not just looking for another job that will make you feel miserable and demotivated. You are looking for a place to show off your qualities and what you’ve learned over the years — a place where you can grow alongside the company.

I will give you a simple task for your next cover letter.

Instead of naming your skills, try to start a sentence with: “I feel inspired when I’m writing content that will keep my target audience engaged.” Show your dedication to potential employers, and they’ll get a sense of what drives you rather than just what you can do.

Stop Saying “I Will Never Find a Job”

Because you know that’s not the truth! It’s a process that requires persistence and dedication. Take a deep breath and try remembering what you love the most about what you do. If you are a content writer, start by going through your old articles and look how far you’ve come since then.

Write down empowering notes for yourself and put them everywhere around the house. You are your most significant support system. Most importantly, focus on the process of finding a great job rather than finding something that will barely cover your monthly expenses and still make you feel incomplete.

Remember that getting turned down can be a positive thing because not every job out there is made for you. Focus on your strengths, everything you’ve accomplished so far and open yourself to a possibility that the very next email you receive is just the one you’ve been waiting for all this time.

--

--