Why You Should Start Writing on Medium Now?

Ivana Džamić
4 min readAug 28, 2019

--

you never know who might be looking.

Photo credit: @dziv_

I was a fresh graduate when I first started writing on Medium. I just knew I needed a platform where I can express my thoughts and try to influence people’s lives. When you sign up for Medium, you get to explore a wide range of topics and follow creative writers from all over the world.

In the beginning, I didn’t have quite the courage to start writing my own stories. I was afraid they wouldn’t be good enough compared to other inspiring articles I had a pleasure of reading. I became more and more invested in what people have to say on Medium, and it sparked something in me.

Think of Medium as a place where you get to discover who you want to be as a writer.

I decided it was about time for me to start doing something about my future, and it had a lot to do with what I was actively doing in the present. After I’ve done an introspection of my own, it was finally the moment for me to publish my very first story on Medium. It wasn’t exactly the most clapped or most shared story ever, but it was the first step I took towards doing what I love, and it felt great.

Photo credit @dziv_

Here is why publishing on Medium is the best thing you can do for your writing career:

You Are Building an Online Portfolio

Whenever you publish a story, you are working on creating a consistent blog where you share your content making sure it speaks to your target audience. Running a consistent blog means having a place where you gather all your ideas and creative thoughts for people to see it. A lot of those people are your potential clients.

They scout for new creative people to join their team. You can always send your Medium blog alongside your resume to show off your writing skills and what you have accomplished so far. That can come in handy, especially for people just starting as writers. Building a strong online portfolio is what makes your work stand out.

You Are Getting More Exposure

Besides building an online community, you also get a chance always to reach a new audience and showcase your work. That is a fantastic opportunity to get discovered by numerous publishers. It’s no secret many of them are still adding new contributors to their sites and scouting for new creative writers.

As long as you put your soul and creativity into your writing, you’ll build a loyal audience that’ll want to read your content regularly. With Medium, you’ll get the exposure your work deserves. Use your writing skills to inspire your audience and expand your online community.

You Decide What Do You Want To Write About

One of the greatest things about Medium is that it gives you the complete freedom to choose topics you want to write about. When I first started writing, I didn’t quite have an idea of how to find my voice on this platform. By covering various topics, I began to understand which ones strike me both as a human being and a writer. I used that experience to focus on creating content that represents who I am and speaks to my audience.

It’s not always about writing content that will turn up going viral; it’s more about writing content that will inspire people to be the best version of themselves.

You Get to Inspire Others But You Can Also Get Inspired

Sometimes you feel stuck like you can’t write for days, weeks or months. It happens to every each of one of us. That’s why Medium is such a great source of inspiration. You can find high-quality articles to spark your creativity but also broaden your horizons. Here, nobody will judge if you don’t write for days, you will be encouraged to move at your own pace and take time to create meaningful content.

You Will Get Support and Valuable Feedback

The reason I choose Medium as my number one platform to publish my articles is that you get genuine engagement from people that read what you post. They will boost your confidence by giving you a clap or highlight a specific part of the article that resonates with them. Medium has somehow managed to create a supportive platform for people who care about influencing others with their words.

P.S. Three years ago, I landed my very first job after sending my articles on Medium as a reference for my style of writing. Put your mind and creativity into everything you do, and there are no limits to what you can achieve.

Did you find something useful in this article? I would love to hear your thoughts on this topic and learn more about your experience on Medium.

--

--