Image by Tumisu from Pixabay

I Analyzed 94 Sales Pitches Sent to My Work Inbox.

Here’s what I learned and who had the best ones

Alyssa Greenfield
The Startup
Published in
6 min readSep 4, 2020

--

I majored in journalism and I work in content marketing. Let’s just say my curiosity can lead me down some interesting rabbit holes.

Also relevant: my colleagues and I in the marketing department are used to receiving email pitches for everything from sales enablement platforms to translation services. And because we work in marketing, a few things are true:

  1. The average ones get forgotten (and ultimately deleted)
  2. The really bad ones get deleted a little quicker
  3. The good ones might get a response if the product is especially relevant
  4. The great ones typically get replied to or shared with the team as an awesome example of email marketing — even if the product isn’t the best fit at the moment

This summer, curiosity got the best of me and I decided to do a little experiment. I created a folder in my work email and dropped in all the sales emails I received over the course of almost four months.

In total, that were 94 emails, several of them from the same companies. I analyzed each of them for a wide range of factors (including request types and use of emojis).

--

--

Alyssa Greenfield
The Startup

Thought leadership strategist and ghostwriter for startup founders | Sharing content that supports fundraising, team building and customer acquisition