LIFE & WORK

I Declined A Job Offer With A Relocation Package To Finland After Accepting It

Here were my reasons

Felix Otoo
The Startup
Published in
8 min readJul 25, 2023

--

Photo by Oleksandr Pidvalnyi from Pexels

In January this year, I received a job offer with a great relocation package . Before this offer, Finland was an anonymous country to me. I was unfamiliar with this beautiful Nordic country with a good economy and quality of life, which is evident in their awarding as the happiest country in the world for the sixth consecutive time.

The relocation package that came with the offer was good. It came with a two months accommodation provision, flight allowance among others. My interview process was smooth and the interviewers at every stage were pleasant.

In one of the interviews, the interviewer showed interest in how I would deal with the Finnish weather, which I had figured only days before the interview to be cold, extremely cold, in comparison to the hot climate in my home country. My interviewer’s direct interest and concern was to me admirable and deepened my interest in the company and removed any doubt that had lingered at the earlier stages of the interview process.

On the 30th of January 2023, after about 4 stages of interviewing, I received an offer from the company. The offer, together with the tangible and intangible perks, when contrasted with…

--

--