I Did It On An Airplane

Richie Crowley
The Startup
Published in
4 min readJun 25, 2019

--

Twice actually.

Photo by Florian van Duyn on Unsplash

And, I’ve done it in a church.

I did it once in high school, and once with a group in college.

I’ve done it in Italy. I’ve done it in Romania. And, I’ve done it a couple of times in India with strangers.

We’ve done it in her house. I’ve done it at my parent's house. I’ve even done it in my parent's bathroom.

I’ve done it with my mom. I’ve seen other people do it with their mom too.

I did it once in a public restroom, and then once publicly at a party.

I’ve even done it in Sweetgreen.

I did it with Jesse Israel in Fenway Park.

And, I’ve also done it and never told anyone I was doing it.

Meditation.

A ritual is a solemn ceremony consisting of a series of actions performed according to a prescribed order. Meditation is a daily ritual of mine.

I first dipped my toes in the kiddie pool of meditation in 2016 when living in Italy, after watching Eat.Pray.Love, with the help of a meditation app. Inspired by several days of 10-minute sits, I found an opportunity to visit India that spring thinking I would dive deeper into my practice. I didn’t.

--

--

Richie Crowley
The Startup

Slowly building an audience by publishing original thoughts and ideas only when I have something of quality to say.