I Didn’t Know Success As A Solopreneur Would Cost Me This

Truths about the online entrepreneur life no one talks about.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup

--

Image from the author’s Instagram.

I’m an online entrepreneur. This means I get to set my work times, and take vacations as and when I wish.

It also means if I don’t work for too long, I have a hard time getting back into the flow. When I come back from a month-long vacation, the “holiday hangover” is real, and it takes me at least a week to start working again.

The “money anxiety” sometimes gets too much to handle, especially on months when the cashflow isn’t too great.

I have to cancel on friends many times to accommodate impromptu work meetings or to meet client deadlines.

Life as a solopreneur is filled with ups and downs, and mostly, we get to see the ups of this lifestyle when we come across posts on Medium or LinkedIn. Entrepreneurship is glorified to such an extent, that several influencers have gone on record saying college degrees and 9-to-5 jobs are not worth it anymore.

But is that really true?

Entrepreneurship isn’t easy, and it certainly isn’t the alternative for the 9-to-5 job you detest so much. It will demand a lot from you, and will give you a lot in return too. But the returns are unpredictable, and often…

--

--