I Feel So Much Younger than My Age. How about You?

Why working from home is the perfect opportunity for “reverse aging.” At least, it has been for me.

Erik P.M. Vermeulen, PhD
The Startup

--

Photo courtesy of author

Age is a funny thing.

You often hear that it’s becoming less important. Age categories are blurring. Opportunities and expectations are no longer age specific.

But I am not so sure. The “older” I get, the more I notice instances of age discrimination. Sometimes subtle or hidden, sometimes obvious.

I heard a conversation on the radio the other day between the host and one of his listeners about TikTok music trends. When the host realized that he was talking to a middle-aged man, he acted surprised:

“This is fantastic. Everyone is welcome on this show. I love it when older people call.”

Or the remark I received when I wanted to join my younger colleagues for lunch:

“Sure. But we are discussing the best Netflix shows of last year.”

Ouch. What do they think I am?

But I understand these reactions. When you get older and time passes, your priorities, interests, and expectations naturally change as well.

--

--