I Got Fooled by an AI Bot

She was charming and said all the right things

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
3 min readOct 24, 2019

--

Image Credit: tarynsouthern.com

It was late last Wednesday afternoon. I was copied on an email to a woman named Charlotte.

What you need to know about Charlotte is that she is smart, articulate, poised, graceful, patient and friendly. (Sometimes she can even be subtly seductive, but don’t tell her that).

She had her own email address, email signature, and way of talking.

The emails she typed to the group email chain were eloquent and included her own stylized formatting the way a writer like me dreams of achieving without detracting from the main point.

Over the next few days after that original email, Charlotte continued the dialogue with all members of the team. She spoke to the group and even started side conversations with specific people, including me.

Watching her have conversations with my colleagues was glorious to watch. Even when they made her life difficult with agreeing on a meeting time, Charlotte hasn't flustered the way a productivity guru like me could become.

All she did was keep the conversation going, and eventually, get everything sorted.

The way Charlotte spoke to me took me back to three years ago when I was on dating apps looking for love. I wished back…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb