I Hated My Job

But quitting wasn’t the answer

Eve Arnold
The Startup

--

Photo by Jeffrey Keenan on Unsplash

It’s long since been a mantra of mine that quitting your day job is a false economy. It’s false for a few reasons, often people quote (and I have in the past) the Gallup study where over 85% are unhappy with their jobs as evidence that the 9-to-5 doesn’t work.

That we’d all be happier if we endeavoured to find financial freedom, live life on our own terms, doing the things that bring us joy.

But arguing that no 9-to-5 is the answer to the problem of unhappy workers is like saying people who are unhappy with what food they consume should switch to a liquid diet immediately.

For most, quitting is impossible. But there is a better, more sensible alternative.

I hated my job

Usually it’s not a problem of the job itself rather the person doing the job isn’t the right fit. I’ve had personal experience of this.

I started my career as a graduate on a scheme that allowed me to rotate around the business for 3 years, dipping my toe in to see what I liked.

It was a brilliant experience and taught me a tonne. Upon leaving the graduate scheme, I picked a role for all the wrong reasons and very nearly quit it all to watch CCTV for a living (not that there’s anything wrong with watching CCTV for…

--

--