I Meditated 100+ Hours In 10 Days. Here’s What I Learned

Unexpected Lessons On Resilience, Productivity, And Growth

Dr. Eugene K. Choi
The Startup

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

During these times of economic uncertainty, I’ve been reflecting a LOT on one thing.

How to develop resilience.

Uber, Whatsapp, and Groupon were all started during the last Great recession. It was a brutal market, yet they prevailed and came out of the other side with great success.

What is it about companies like these that make it through challenging times?

I had a very unique experience learning about the answer to this exact question:

Meditating for 100+ hours over 10 days at a silent meditation retreat.

I recently spoke for Mike Kim’s community of entrepreneurs sharing what I learned from it.

Upon arriving at the meditation center, I turned in my phone, and we had no access to technology. We were also told not to bring any books or journals as well.

During breaks, I was twiddling my thumbs at times due to the fact there was nothing to do.

It was also difficult to go out on long walks because I was in the summer desert. Temperatures would reach as high as 120 degrees.

--

--

Dr. Eugene K. Choi
The Startup

Using neuroscience + technology to help entrepreneurs eliminate overwhelm, anxiety, and procrastination. FREE training series: https://destinyhacks.co