I Moved Out My Parent’s And Moved Into My Body

Christian Sotero
The Startup
Published in
3 min readApr 16, 2019

You’re going to want to know this sooner than later…

I have no credibility to write what I am about to because today only marks the second day I wake up from my new duplex in Bettendorf, Iowa. So keep in mind you are not reading from someone that has grinded for 2 years, but just two days.

If that is okay with you, please allow me to share with you the experience that has inspired me to write.

It all started the morning of April 14 at 5am when I opened my eyes.

The sun ray’s beamed through my windows and shone on my desk where I write.

I stood up.

Stretched my arms.

Yawned and loud as I could.

Rubbed my eyes and threw a shirt on.

I grab the doorknob and before I pulled it I was hit with an emotion so powerful that it has not left me to this present moment.

What was that powerful feeling?

A strong sense of independence. Knowing in my mind that today belongs to me and how it moves forward is dependent upon the choices I make and create. A certain satisfaction that takes your breath away when you appreciate yourself. Where you can now dictate your life’s direction. Being on your own, waking up inside your own space in your own place.

And…..

This feeling that you can do anything because you can control your own association. You can put motivational quotes around your walls to inspire you. Brew your coffee in the mornings. Setup your bath and body works in the bathroom. Organize your furniture in your own fashion. Watch the movies you want. Read your books in peace. And most importantly…

Never worrying about parking.

Now, here is why you are reading this!

I truly believe this motivation is the missing ingredient I’ve always craved deep down to take life more serious. As I never researched how to do that or a “secret sauce” to living on your own, I am exposed to it’s opportunity from now on. And so are you.

You may be on your own or know someone else who does. Even in such a case, remember that your life is in the palm of your hands more than it has ever been.

That’s a good thing.

When we live on our own, we take ownership of not only our possessions but ourselves. And how we express that ownership is completed through our choices. Make great ones. Become what you want to be.

With that said, thank you for letting me share. I hope you do the same thing with me.

I wish you the best today. Stay committed to yourself. And remember…

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me; I am a free human being with an independent will.” -Charlotte Bronte

You are a free human being with an independent will.

Never forget it.

Best regards,

Christian

--

--

Christian Sotero
The Startup

Billingual banker and passionate about living intentionally in a very busy world