I Read One Novel a Week for Two Years… This Is What I’ve Learnt

On less stress, better sleep and an open mind.

Maddie Rose
The Startup
6 min readJul 4, 2019

--

I’ve always been an avid reader. Always. Some of my happiest childhood memories come from sitting by the heater in winter, indulging in the newest read beside my mum, or lying down on a pier reading a novel while my dad and brother went fishing beside me.

2 years ago, I set myself a challenge to read 52 books in a year, and then repeated the challenge the year after that. 104 books down, I continue to benefit from the process.

Aside from living longer (23 months longer, apparently), there‘s an abundance of treasures that can be found when one find the time to read. The points below are just the tip of the iceberg.

Stress Less

A 2009 study at the University of Sussex found that reading for just 6 minutes has the potential to reduce stress levels by up to 68%, beating out walking (42%) and listening to music (61%). If that doesn’t inspire you to read more, I don’t know what will! Reading provides a way to practise mindfulness in a way that is still entertaining and fun. It provides an escape from the stressful, hectic elements of life.

It’s Your Life, Read Your Guilty Pleasures Dammit!

You are not going to continue to read if you don’t like what you’re reading. A book will sit on your bedside table collecting dust for months if you’re not ‘feeling’ it. So read what you want to, otherwise there’s no point. I have a major love for Young Adult fiction, despite being 27 years old. I’m not ashamed about it, because anything that brings me such joy and excitement is something I’m going to pursue. PJ. O’Rourke once said, “Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.” Bollocks. What a waste of your time. Read what gets your heart racing, palms sweating, tears running, goosebumps rife.

A Cure for Sadness

I’ve been through some really rough times in the last few years, particularly the loss of my dad. During these years, there were many instances (and still are) where I felt like staying in the safety of my own home, with the comfort of a good book. And let me tell you, nothing appeased my pain quite like escaping into a novel. Each book provided me with a temporary relief, reduced stress and gave me something else to focus on. I grew a love for fantasy novels, because they provided me with an escapism that couldn’t be rivalled. On the other side of the spectrum, I also thoroughly enjoyed reading books that reflected the experiences and emotions I was going through, because they made me feel less alone.

If you’re feeling low, grab a book, run a bath and light some candles. You’ll immediately feel a much-needed sense of calmness and peace.

“I need to hear some sounds that recognize the pain in me. I let the melody shine, let it cleanse my mind, I feel free now.” — Bittersweet Symphony, The Verve

You’ll Become a Better Writer

Whenever you read a book, you’ll pick up on nuances from other writers and learn from the best. You’ll learn which writers you would like to emulate, to draw inspiration from and what genre suits you best. Your vocabulary will expand and you will become more articulate. The best writers are avid readers.

“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or tools) to write.” — Stephen King

Photo by Mariana Vusiatytska on Unsplash

There’s Always Time To Read

Humans love to complain about not having enough time in the day. But if we took all the minutes we spent commuting, scrolling through our phones and watching TV, every single one of us could find a spare 20 minutes in a day to read. And that’s enough.

It’s Okay to Dislike a Classic

Don’t worry about those lists and articles that insist that “these are the 100 novels you should read before you die…”. Reading is a personal experience, and one that should be done because you enjoy it. Don’t feel obliged to read what you’ve been told to read. There are some classics I’ve absolutely loved, some that have made my skin crawl and some that were given up on after the first chapter. Don’t waste your time doing something you don’t love, just because others tell you to.

Have a Limit

Life is too short to read a crappy book (and what we deem ’crappy’ is often subjective). If you find yourself struggling to get past a single page, or that you’ve been on the same book for weeks or months, it may be time to move onto the next and get your reading mojo back. I’ll give a novel between 50–100 pages before I decide if it’s time to give it a wide berth.

Reading Helps You Sleep Better

It is a wonderful feeling when you’re reading before bed, and you hit a wall. You find yourself re-reading the same line over and over, but you can no longer absorb what is in front of you. Reading a book also implies you’re not looking at screen, which is a big no-no before bed. Pick up a book next time you need to wind down, and find you’ll find yourself drifting off easily.

The More You Read, the Faster You’ll Get

With each book, my reading capabilities become a little bit quicker. I’m not a skim reader, I read every line properly — there’s no sense in rushing if you genuinely want to get lost and enjoy the experience. But if you maintain your momentum, and make reading a daily habit, you’ll train your reading muscle and continue to become stronger and faster.

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Give It Another Go

Almost all of us are ‘forced’ to read during our school days. Being made to read something changes the way we feel towards the text. Worse yet, being made to analyse and dissect a piece of work right down to its core can put even the most avid reader off. But it’s important to retrain the way you feel about reading. Choose a book that appeals to you, and read it in your own time. I found myself avoiding fiction based in outback Australia (trust me, there’s a bloody ton) because it was forced down my throat at school. It’s still not my favourite, but I have found a new respect for it, and even some enjoyment. Not having to write a 2000 word essay on it is a huge plus.

“If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book.” — J.K. Rowling

Reading Will Filter Into All Aspects of Your Life

Through everything we read, we acquire new ways of thinking, expand our vocabulary and better the way we communicate. Reading books allows you to travel without leaving your room. It helps you further understand other people, cultures and countries.

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” — Dr. Seuss

Photo by Prasanna Kumar on Unsplash

--

--

Maddie Rose
The Startup

Leaving parties early since 1991. Advertising suit by day.