I Self-Published My Book. Two Days Later, I’m Full Of Regret.

Here’s everything I wish I’d done differently in the publishing and book-writing process.

Ellen "Jelly" McRae
The Startup
Published in
12 min readMay 30, 2024

--

The regretful writer | Image created on Canva

I'm really proud to say that I have just published my first novel days ago.

But as soon as I held that beautiful paper back in my hand, I was already filled with regret.

Yes, regret. Dreaded regret.

I know I meant to feel happy (and trust me, I am), but right now, I can't help mulling over everything I've done wrong, could’ve done better and should have worked on first.

It's the business owner in me, constantly evaluating my work and trying to do better.

I tell myself to be kind. I'm a first-time novelist, self-learning everything on the fly while maintaining an income.

I can't beat myself up too much that I made some mistakes.

Yet, considering another novel is on the horizon, I don't want to make these mistakes again.

This is everything I regret after self-publishing my first novel (and my list of what to do differently with the second book).

Marketing first, along with everything else

--

--

Ellen "Jelly" McRae
The Startup

I’m here to use my wins and losses in #relationships as your cautionary tale | Writes 1LD; Cautionary tale women's fiction | https://linktr.ee/ellenjellymcrae