I Spent 3 Months Analyzing Nike’s Marketing, Here’s What I’ve Learned

Get smarter at understanding what makes ads effective.

Jano le Roux
The Startup

--

A montage of Nike ads with an image of the author.
Illustration by author

As a marketing strategist, I’ve always been entranced by Nike’s branding. It’s like they’ve discovered the perfect rhythm to make my pulse race before my adrenaline-fueled body yells just do it.

  • The sleek design.
  • The energizing comfort.
  • The athletic supremacy.
  • The sleek, sleek design.

I took on a 3-month sprinting exploration.

The rules were simple.

Every time I find myself hesitating, I need to lace up my running shoes and chase down a couple of Nike campaigns to see what their trailblazing design team is crafting.

Although it was a challenge, I felt like a kid in a candy store during a sugar rush, snagging Nike insights like a squirrel goes nuts for acorns.

With my motivation reservoir filled to the brim, I’m ready to unleash the inspiration.

Make it uniquely personal.

Nike’s ads aren’t just advertisements; they’re a siren call to the inner designer in all of us. Take the Nike By You campaign, for instance. What’s that you see? Nike’s style…

--

--

Jano le Roux
The Startup

I run a Meta ad agency making marketing feel effortless. Ready to grow your brand? Connect: jano@likeflare.com. Join me ⤵️