I Strive to Be Cheap, Sensitive, and Naked to the World

Ethan Maurice
The Startup
Published in
5 min readNov 19, 2019

--

The other day, I figured out how to put the way I go about life into a single sentence. It then occurred to me that life was far too expansive. One couldn’t possibly do such a thing! However, it felt like an important sentence, so I thought to share it with you:

I strive to be cheap, sensitive, and naked to the world.

As language is subjective, those words probably mean something different to you than me. Let’s break it into parts and elaborate on each.

I strive to be cheap.

I strive to be cheap not for the sake of money, but for the sake of time. When I work, I trade my time for money. I then trade that money for services and things. Simply put, the less money I spend, the less time I must spend earning money, and more time I have for other things.

This matters to me because I believe my time is super valuable. And I’m not that into the act of spending my time earning money. I enjoy traveling, reading books, writing, running, being among nature, hanging out with good friends, and at least a couple dozen other things much more than any job at which I’ve traded time for money, and I’ve found some pretty sweet places to trade my time for money too.

--

--