I Survived Situational Depression

JP
The Startup
Published in
12 min readSep 27, 2019

--

A guide for those traveling through the fog

Photo by Katie Moum on Unsplash

You may already hate this article. I get it. If you are currently experiencing depression, I get it. I would hate it, too. Another article about depression and how to “treat it.”

I was there. This year, just a couple of months ago, for maybe the first time in my life.

Yes, at 36 years old I recently went through a months long depression. I’m going to preface this with I am also a sober human in recovery. I have 21 months clean and sober.

Allow me to elaborate.

What is Clinical Depression?

I’m going to assume that you’ve seen television commercials regarding depression that most likely accompany a medication for treatment. I hardly watch regular tv anymore that is interrupted by such commercials, but I remember them from when I was younger. A time when depression was more in the dark as was most mental illnesses and addictions, especially alcoholism. We didn’t like to talk openly about our troubles, and depression carried a heavy stigma.

But why?

Depression meant weakness. What do you have to be depressed about? A common misconception is that you must be ungrateful. Or you must not be eating healthy foods or getting enough exercise, or you must not…

--

--