I Swapped My iPhone for an Apple Watch and Here’s What Happened.

A glimpse at an audio-first, phone-free future.

Franz Schrepf
The Startup

--

Photo by Angus Gray on Unsplash

Working from home and still using your phone?

When I started working from home in 2020, I thought I would reduce how much time I spend on my phone. Instead, it went up.

I previously wrote about tricks to reduce your screentime. Back then, I proudly reduced my screen time to ~2h per day (average is 5h). It’s back to ~3h again.

I always told myself that phones are essential. We need them to hold our hand (literally!) through everyday life. Calls, camera, maps, we need those things! Instagram and Twitter are just the cherries on top.

But in the home office? I rarely snap a picture of myself in my pyjamas or look up directions to the bathroom.

The useful services of our smartphones have become so intertwined with distractions that we can’t even tell them apart. I pick up my phone to read a text and end up scrolling 20min through Twitter.

Our phone has become a bandaid to cover the anxiousness and boredom we all felt in 2020. Phone addiction is hardwired into our brain, and no amount of good intentions, screen timers, or bedtime settings can fix our own psychology.

--

--

Franz Schrepf
The Startup

Strategic Partnerships & early team @ Hopin, Europe’s fastest growing startup in history. Web2 fluent, Web3 curious.