I Switched to Lite After Using Visual Studio Code for 3 Years

Don’t buy a high-end computer just to run bloatware — throw away bloatware instead.

Shalitha Suranga
The Startup

--

The Lite editor is running on my Linux computer, captured by the author.

We use IDEs when we need to work with a specific framework or platform. For example, Android Studio is helping us to create applications for the Android platform. On the other hand, code editors help programmers to work with various sorts of projects. Code editors have helpful features such as syntax highlighting, linting, and auto-complete.

Like most of the die-hard programmers, about 13 years ago, I initially used Microsoft Notepad as a code editor. After that, I just found Notepad++ and switched to it. I installed Dreamweaver. I tried to keep Dreamweaver as my code editor while I was working on many web development projects. The older versions of Dreamweaver had a pretty good performance on my Pentium-IV computer, but the later versions slowed down my computer. I got a chance to use JetBrains IDEs from 2015 onward because I was able to use my university email to obtain a Jetbrains license. Thenceforth, I was using Jetbrains IDEs all the time, without even using a separate code editor.

In 2017, like any other modern programmer, I installed Visual Studio Code. It looked great at that time, and I haven’t faced any performance troubles. Unfortunately, I…

--

--

Shalitha Suranga
The Startup

Programmer | Author of Neutralinojs | Technical Writer