I Tested AI to Write for Me. This is What Happened.

It could be bad. It could be good.

Sean Kernan
The Startup

--

Editorial Rights purchased from Sergey Nivens via Adobe Stock Photos

You are probably wondering if Artificial Intelligence is writing this.

Am I a robot? Am I human? The joke is on you — everyone’s a robot. Including you.

Online writing is booming. Because I make my living in this world, lots of products land in my inbox. Candidly, most are junk. But lately, more AI products are trickling in.

In an effort to help other creators expand their toolbox, I’ve traveled to the land of literary terminators to see if there’s anything to offer.

First impressions and what to expect

Don’t get too caught up in which website to use. They all use the same technology, GPT-3, the latest in AI writing. Their marketing team tries to convince everyone their AI replicates real humans.

And it can, to an extent. AI can certainly link together a few sentences, even a few ideas. But things get weird when they try to push further than that.

As an example, imagine if you went incognito simply by wearing a wig and a mustache. From a distance, people might not suspect anything. But up close, they’d know something was off.

--

--

Sean Kernan
The Startup

I'm a nommer. Submit your articles to my publication Corporate Underbelly and I'll try to help you get boosted.