I Tried Keto for a Month and Here’s What Happened

The diet seemed like a crazy whim. Then it worked.

Piper Steele
The Startup

--

i yunmai/Unsplash

LeBron James is a fan. So is Halle Berry, Vanessa Hudgens and at least one Kardashian. But is the ketogenic diet, where you get 70% of your calories from fat, 20% from protein and 5% from carbohydrates, healthy? Is it even doable? Or smart?

Shape magazine named keto as the most popular diet of 2018, with everyone from celebrities to personal trainers extolling its virtues.

But I wasn’t interested in being one of the cool kids. I just wanted to lose 15 (okay 20) pounds and figure out why I was tired all the time.

The fatigue wasn’t a new thing. But it was happening more frequently, especially after I ate. One morning, I was on my second cup of coffee, struggling to focus on the computer screen when I was forced to lay down. I simply couldn’t fight the urge to take a nap. An hour later, I woke up feeling rested — and worried.

--

--

Piper Steele
The Startup

Journalist/author/editor specializing in money, relationships, food and health. Fan of brunch, Stephen Colbert, heated car seats. Click follow ⬇