I Wrote a Failed Fitness eBook so You Don’t Have To

6 mistakes you can avoid.

Ryan Porter
The Startup

--

Photo credit: Victor Freitas

There are an estimated 48.5 million eBooks on Amazon, and I thought my short fitness book would be a breakout star.

Who was I kidding?

Just myself I guess. The only thing I did right was write the damn thing. Everything else is up for debate.

I will say that I’m proud of myself for writing a 35 page eBook. I hadn’t done anything like that before. It was a satisfying challenge for a recent graduate.

It takes a certain motivation to craft a self-published book.

The problem was that I wasn’t motivated for the right reason. My book lacked some major components that any helpful eBook should have. As a result, I sold five copies (my mom bought one) before begrudgingly taking the eBook off Amazon.

Have I written a successful eBook since? No.

Can you learn from my mistakes? Absolutely.

I’ll detail my misconceptions and offer some quick fixes that’ll help you write a more engaging eBook than I did.

1. I didn’t pay an artist to make a book cover

--

--

Ryan Porter
The Startup

I’ve helped generate $20 million with video marketing. Now I help solopreneurs get more leads: https://videomarketingsecrets.carrd.co/