I Wrote Every Day for 270 Days. It Was a Waste of Time

I focussed on all the wrong things

Kieran MacRae
The Startup

--

Photo by Cookie the Pom on Unsplash

Like many writers, I adore Seth Godin’s writing. He has shown up daily for over 10 years, which is astounding.

I wanted a piece.

I committed to writing a blog post every single day for 1 year. I started writing short, punchy Seth Godin style posts. After 270 posts — I got crickets. Then I missed a day.

No big deal, I started my streak again. I got five more days in and missed two days. Then I quit.

This was about 5 years ago, and I can see now that the project was in fact, a complete waste of time.

Don’t consistently work on the wrong things

Be consistent. That’s the advice you see given again and again. Keep showing up. Commit.

It’s bad advice. I committed and showed up every day for nine months, but my attitude was all wrong.

I wasn’t consistent with the topics I covered. I wasn’t consistent with the quality of writing. And I wasn’t consistently trying to improve. Just showing up isn’t enough.

Yes, if you want to improve at something, you need to consistently show up to practice. But you also have to know how to improve. I wasn’t trying…

--

--

Kieran MacRae
The Startup

Writer, Marketer, Podcaster. Sign up to my newsletter and you'll learn how to grow the podcast https://platform-podcasting.ck.page/5943ab8111