If You Want To Be Rich, Stop Focusing On Your Salary (Do This Instead)

Jonah Malin
The Startup
4 min readJan 4, 2019

--

How do the rich get richer?

Over the past four months I’ve gained a newfound understanding of self-worth.

I used to break down my money into two categories; salary and savings. The process was very simple. To make an income, I provided my time and skills in exchange for money. I would then keep a percentage of my bi-weekly paycheck for myself and put the rest of it into a savings account.

The truth is, that this is how you make good money. It’s not how you make great money.

In his New York Times bestseller The 4-Hour Workweek, Tim Ferriss explains why being the second-lowest paid person at his company persuaded him to start BrainQUICKEN LLC on the side and slowly build it up. This venture turned his 40k per year into 40k per month.

Had Ferris stayed complacent with his single source of revenue, and focused all of his energy on climbing the corporate ladder, he never would have become the entrepreneurial icon we know today.

The key to making more starts with a higher level understanding of wealth, and the two different ways we define income.

--

--

Jonah Malin
The Startup

Words that perform like Joaquin, sing like Celine, get remembered like Dean, & ooze tigers blood like Sheen.