I’m Not Down With “Sharenting”

Why I don’t document my kid’s life on social media

Amanda Allworth
The Startup

--

Image by Mizter_x94 from Pixabay

I grew up in the 90s when people liked things in real life instead of with a virtual thumbs up. I’ve struggled to lean into social media. When I found out I was pregnant, I didn’t post the news online. I didn’t share ultrasound pictures and never announced my son’s arrival on Facebook. He didn’t enter the world with followers or friends. I’m trying my best to keep it that way.

We’re living in a world of over-sharers

Sometimes I question why social media is so popular. Is it because we have all become addicted to attention? Why do we post photos of our dinner, our dogs or our engagement rings? I often question the value that social media adds to my life. Even more so since I found out I was pregnant.

I knew right away I wasn’t going to follow the societal norm of sharing my experience with the world. But the pressure is great when you see pictures of new babies and happy families flooding your Facebook feed daily. People expect you to flood their feeds with photos and new milestones, and when you don’t, something seems taboo. “Sharent” is a term that been used to describe parents who overshare aspects of their children’s lives on social media. I’ve never felt compelled to be a sharent. Here are a few reasons…

--

--

Amanda Allworth
The Startup

Scientist. Agvocate. Knowledge Seeker. Lover of comfortable silences and honest stories.