Image Creation for Non-Artists (OpenCV Project Walkthrough)

An attempt at exploring how computer vision and image processing techniques can allow non-artists to create Art

Ran (Reine)
The Startup

--

The end result

This project stemmed from my predilection of the visual arts — as a computing student, I’ve always envied art students in their studios with splodges of colors and pristine white canvases. However, when I’m faced with a blank canvas and a (few) bottle(s) of paint, I don’t know where to start. Without the hours of training Art students have, I simply can’t go very far unless I’m following some Bob Ross tutorial. That’s why I’ve decided to explore and see if I can code something that will enable me to create art “automatically”.

I did this project a looong time ago for my final year project when I wanted to create some software program that can allow its users to sketch something stickman-like on a pre-selected background, select the category of what was drawn, and the programme will intelligently figure out which image to poisson-blend in. After that, the user can also select a neural transfer style to be applied on the image.

So in this article I will be giving a brief walkthrough of this project. Because there are many parts to it, I won’t be going in-depth with the technical implementations. However, if…

--

--

Ran (Reine)
The Startup

I live for days when I can watch skies of blue, while enjoying the view. Most other days I’m a city rat who scuttles between Art and Coding. SG NTU CS Grad.