Important Lessons I’ve Learned When I Focused On Creating

It might help you as well

Sapir.
The Startup
Published in
4 min readSep 23, 2018

--

In 2016, I quit my job for the first time and tried my luck as an entrepreneur.

I have touched many fields from start-up to real estate. I have made some bad investments and learned some great lessons.

This world is like a drug.
Whoever has experienced the world of entrepreneurship knows what I am talking about and how addictive it can be.

The unknowing field, the process of growing and learning, the networking.

Every day brings new opportunities.

Hanging around with entrepreneurs makes you feel like anything is possible.

It was gasoline for me.

The days turn into nights. I could spend hours in the hustle before I even noticed I should eat or sleep.

I didn’t want to leave the entrepreneurship world and go back to be employed.

Still, I did.
These are the two main reasons:

  • I surrendered to the stress of my environment.
  • I had a plan to move to a small town in Germany called Freiburg.
    To do this, I needed to prove I had a minimum of 15k on my account.

I told myself going back to be an employee was a temporary thing -

In six months, I take my money and will move to Germany.”

Those six months past and I got an offer from my boss to relocate. We talked about Kyiv.

They offered to pay for all my flights and for my apartment.

I said yes and within less than two weeks I found myself in a city I never thought I would ever even visit.

I went after the money.

I didn’t like the job and I didn’t like the person it turned me into.

I gave up on my principles and people.

I should have left sooner, but better late than never.

I left Kyiv and start to live between Tel Aviv and Paris.
I thought about my life and what I was going to do.

It took me a few months before I got back in the game.

I went from doing almost nothing to working on building four empires at the same time.

I have learned many lessons when I focused on creating.

Today, I will share three with you, so you can think about them while building your own empire.

Credit

Ask advice from the right people

Our parents and friends love us and want the best for us, but they don’t necessarily have the knowledge to guide us on our journey.

When I opened my first business, my boyfriend at the time told me it was not a good idea and I should drop it.

With all the respect, I couldn't take his advice.

He didn’t come from the startup world and he never dealt with opening a business.

I just couldn’t count on his advice.

You don’t go to the dentist to get help when your arm is broken.

There are no shortcuts to success

It is all a game of numbers, so you will need to put in the hard work.

If you want to create a legacy if you want to build an empire -

Do NOT look for shortcuts. FOCUS on the work you need to get there.

More hours on your project will provide better results.

More hours of learning will turn you into a better version of yourself.

You have to do MORE but in the right direction.

Read MORE
Learn MORE
Invest MORE
Try MORE

Teaming up will make you stronger

Often when I think about the projects I want to create, I think about potential partners.

Most of the time, I can do it on my own, sure.

But two brains always work better than one.

Being surrounded by people working on the same type of project and having the same goals will help you to get better results.

“Alone we can do so little, together we can do so much.”
- Helen Keller

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by + 371,336 people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

If you liked to read this, we might also like those:

--

--

Sapir.
The Startup

I write to organize the mess inside my head.