In Development

Tracy Collins (aka threecee)
The Startup
Published in
5 min readSep 3, 2020

--

You don’t develop code. Code develops you.

During a recent lecture via Zoom in the Flatiron School software program, I attempted to crack-wise on the chat as my fellow students and I often do. I can’t exactly remember what prompted me, but I wrote:

“You don’t develop code. Code develops you.”

Although I was trying to make a joke, this stuck with me. I believe it’s true, if you’re serious about learning how to code (well).

What do I mean by “code develops you”? A few things come to mind, but the overarching truth about code development for me is:

“A computer is literally as dumb as a rock. It literally needs to be told how to do EACH. AND. EVERY. LITTLE. THING.”

Because computers are dumb, it’s often necessary for you to break down a problem and its solution into smaller, simpler pieces to ensure your code will do what you want need. You also quickly learn how tedious, frustrating, aggravating, exasperating and humbling this process can be. Turns out, instructing a rock how to manipulate the DOM and persist changes in the back end can easily drive a person insane. I know. Trust.

In order to avoid going insane, I’ve had to develop myself in several key areas…

--

--