Individuals and Interactions : diving deep on the “Agile Values”

Jeffrey Rosser
The Startup
Published in
8 min readMay 9, 2020

--

Photo by Martin Robles on Unsplash

It turns out during a global pandemic you have more time to sit and think about things. The time spent commuting, or breaking for coffee, or riding up elevators, or switching gears to talk to a coworker about their dogs is now freed up to spend on other things. (I originally wrote ‘freed up to *do* other things’ but if I’m honest I find myself not doing much of anything these days.)

In the first weeks I spent an inordinate amount of time checking covid-19 dashboards. I’ve sense turned to streaming decades-old baseball games.

All of this to say, I haven’t been very productive with my newfound free-time.

Good for me I’ve procrastinated on more than one professional project. And no matter how long this current pace of life lasts, I have work to keep me busy.

How does the Agile Manifestor apply to actual project work?

I recently started work as a software project manager, working in a medium-sized SaaS company in Austin. It is largely focused on delivering internal change management projects related to a recent merger. My first project was big and hairy, one that requires the PM to go across multiple functions, moderate competing team requirements, and quarterback a lengthy project schedule with…

--

--

Jeffrey Rosser
The Startup

Writer, technologist, user advocate. I like to think about how teams work.