Photo by Himanshu Singh Gurjar on Unsplash

Is Adulthood a Scam?

It has been just a few years into my adulthood and I’m already regretting growing up!

Tendai Tomu
Published in
4 min readJul 10, 2019

--

Don’t get me wrong, being able to take decisions on my own, having my day going by without been yelled at or/and earning my own paycheck all feel great.

But sometimes I can’t help it but wonder why being an adult is so hard.

There are a lot of things things that I could do when I was young that I can no longer do just because I am now an adult.

Remember the times we used to play outside as kids, playing games with friends, eating and sleeping, without knowing the harsh and dangers of the world?

Nothing is as loyal as before, back in the day all I had to worry about was managing my little allowance but now my paycheck disappears into an ocean of expenses before I even receive it!

Maybe it's my understanding of what being an adult that needs to change. Does being a grown-up mean I have to be mean about life too? Does it entail being serious all the time, managing family matters, having kids etc?

Being an adult should not be such a hustle

When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much he had learned in seven years.

Mark Twain

what we believe we know is often wrong, and as we learn we start to realize how ignorant we really are. There should be more to life than just following the crowd and focusing on running along the rails of this rat race called life.

Our memories of childhood and adolescence, fond or not contain the experiences that we can draw on to maximise on the pleasures and benefits of our current lives.

One of the things that I enjoyed when I was in my youth was the opportunities I got to learn new things. As times moved on and life started happening, I fell into the ‘’everyday routine’ trap. Soon I started following the grown-up blueprints of how things are done and I forgot to learn.

The world can be so black and white that anyone who dares to dream in colour is viewed as if they are infected by leprosy

The process of learning does not have to end with the dawn of adulthood as everything we go through brings lessons, sour or sweet that we have to embrace and apply.

Adulting means taking responsibility

In life, there are 3 things to avoid, debt, ill health, and bad neighbours! — A proverb I learnt in adulthood.

Yes, being an adult can indeed be scary. Being an adult means making peace with the fact that every decision you make have consequences. It means living with the burdens brought about by your bad choices as well as those shots you fail to take along the way.

I missed a lot of opportunities that could have made my life easier now. But all of those experiences and regrets taught me an important lesson: My biggest failure in life is when I stop trying/striving.

When we choose to live in the shadows of yesterday, we forfeit the right to determine what our tomorrow is going to look like.

The only thing that is constant in this life we live is change — we do not have any choice but to follow it. The world will never to revolve and we have to adapt to its tune depending on the situation or die! One of such changes is the leap from childhood to adulthood. When we resist this change we cease to grow.

When we choose to live in the shadows of yesterday, we forfeit the right to determine what our tomorrow is going to look like. That is sad!

Adulthood is not a scam

Yes, life happens to the best of us. Expenses pile up, bills need to be paid, debts are incurred, and Ceasar needs his dues every now and then. It gets to be hectic and painful to face but this is just the beginning of life.

Adulthood is not a scam. The societal convulsions that swallow most of us and the things that we mindlessly pursue the most definitely are. The time is now for us to rediscover the joys of our childhood and embrace them in our adulthood. The rat race is just that, the rat race.

I wish you guys good luck in your future and may adulthood bring good health to everyone.

Support my writing by buying me a Coffee

Follow me on Twitter

--

--

Tendai Tomu
The Startup

Blockchain Consultant || Fintech || Author: The Rise of Blockchain for Agriculture (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08KHC3WCF) Email: tendaitomumedium[at]gmail.com