Source

Is Elon Musk weird?

Martin Uhnak
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2019

--

It happened.

Elon Musk hosts meme review. If you ever thought about what it might feel like seeing Elon Musk lol out about a dead deer in a pool, I will save you the trouble. It is strange and satisfying.

I loled too.

Just like Joe Rogan’s podcast with Elon, this is the next level of Elon’s PR stunts. Granted, he never shied away from a good stunt. And by never, I mean never.

His Twitter doesn’t seem to have a publicist yet he’s more popular than ever. He will not hesitate to try legal consumables on air in front of millions of people. He will do a thoughtful interview with a YouTuber. And by popular demand, he will not refuse to be in a video with PewDiePie.

If you’re looking for triggers to be outraged you’re not alone. If not, keep reading. There might be a point.

I watched the interview on Joe Rogan multiple times. It’s three hour deep conversation into many unusual topics. In fact, I think it’s one of the best pieces of recent entertainment production.

The biographer Ashlee Vance attempted to write a objective biography with her book. In my opinion, he drew a biased birdseye profile of the controversial billionaire. He did just that. The book is about an eccentric, alien-like unpredictable individual who takes extreme risks and defies odds. He believes in physics above all else and is often rude to people.

Is Elon weird?

After I read the book, I didn’t feel I learned that much about the guy.

When I listened, watched and re-watched the Joe Rogan podcast, it started to cohere. All the tweets, the stunts, the interviews, the controversies, the memes. The father, the move to Canada, the move to the US, the PayPal years, the MacLaren F1, Nevada, may God rest his soul, the divorce, Talulah Riley, SolarCity, SpaceX, Tesla, SEC, doubling down on Tesla…

A human being with flaws, feelings, desires, and fears.

A human being with flaws, problems and tough nuts unshakeable principles that break for no reason. A human being with desires, fears and feelings. A human being faced with extraordinary challenges that do not break him.

But give him clarity on his place in the universe. Elon is merely a human being.

Just a guy who laughs at memes and plays with fire.

This is Elon’s not a flamethrower.

Links:

Meme review
Joe Rogan
The Book

This was published on my blog at martinuhnak.com. Thanks for reading.

If you enjoyed this post please consider becoming a part of my circle by clicking on the link below. I love hearing from people, and I reply to all.

Sign Up for Letters →

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by +430,678 people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--