Is Evernote Still the Best?

Will It Ever Be Again?

Darryl Brooks
The Startup

--

Photo by Inbetween Architects on Unsplash

About three months ago, I wrote an article entitled, Why I Think Evernote Is Still the Best. It was (and still is) a very popular article, and I got mostly positive feedback.

So what happened to Evernote?

It’s hard to say. Hubris? Arrogance? Or an honest attempt to improve a legacy app and bring it into line with the competition.

A few days ago, Evernote made available version 10 of its popular note-taking app. The release was met with everything from wild applause to outright disgust and hatred. Why the disparity? Well, for one thing, there are many different types of users out there. People that actually use it as a simple note-taking app were probably pleased. It had a more modern, cleaner look and, of course, it took notes. But many of us that have been using it for a long time, ten years in my case, used it for much more. We used it for what it was truly designed for, a document storage and retrieval system. Sure, some of those documents were simple notes we type on the fly. But many of us used it as a full-fledged paperless environment.

And at that, it excelled. This new app, not so much.

As I said in the other article, I occasionally go out and try the competition. In my mind, that is primarily Notion, OneNote, and Nimbus…

--

--

Darryl Brooks
The Startup

Photographer & Writer-I shoot what I see-I write what I feel. Top writer in Photography, Art, Creativity, Productivity, Self Improvement, Business, Life Lessons