Is Freelancing On Fiverr Worth It? Here’s The Honest Truth

Jonah Malin
The Startup

--

14 months into my full-time marketing job, I decided it was time to start diversifying my revenue streams and experiment with different ways to make money. I had read in several different places that Fiverr was a solid option to consider for writers, so I decided to check it out. In October, I created a profile and became a live member of the Fiverr community.

The set-up was relatively simple, basically just providing a profile picture and some brief descriptions.

I noticed that Writing & Translation was a central category on the platform, which aligned with what I wanted to offer. My area of expertise is in the article/blog realm, and after a few days of browsing through other sellers pages to see whats works and what doesn’t, I created my first gig.

For those who don’t know, Fiverr is a marketplace that connects aspiring freelancers (sellers) with customers looking for specific services (buyers). There are a variety of different categories that your work can fall under from Financial Consulting to Logo Design. In order to make money, you have to create “gigs”, which are essentially a mini sales pitch that try to reel in potential buyers to purchase your services.

As with anything, there is no single recipe for success on Fiverr. I cannot give you a step by step guide…

--

--

Jonah Malin
The Startup

Words that perform like Joaquin, sing like Celine, get remembered like Dean, & ooze tigers blood like Sheen.