Is My Robo-Vac Spying on Me?

The sobering facts about robotic vacuum cleaners

Beth Bruno
The Startup

--

The little spybot in my house — Photo by Beth Bruno

We received a robotic vacuum cleaner for Christmas from our kids. It is something that I have wanted for a while because we have two cats, and keeping up with the cat hair on our floors is a chore. We brought it home and put it to work right away.

I was worried that the cats would be freaked out by it because they hate the vacuum cleaner. All I have to do is walk to the hall closet where the vacuum is stored and they run for cover. But, surprisingly, they seem ok with this new creature that’s crawling around the floor. They keep their distance, but they are more curious than afraid.

That’s a good thing, because being sensitive to their fear of the vacuum was keeping me from vacuuming as often as I wanted to. If they were curled up in the living room enjoying a nice snooze, it seemed cruel to pull out the vacuum and ruin a good nap. Now, with my new robo-vac, they can snooze away in whatever room it is working. Win-win!

The model that the kids gave us is Wifi compatible. This means I can download an app and control my vacuum from my phone. It will map out my house to better understand where it needs to go and what it still needs to clean. At first I thought that was great. Then I started thinking that through. What does this mean exactly…

--

--

Beth Bruno
The Startup

Human learning to be human. Writing in hopes of getting there.