Iteration Over Innovation: The Need to Change the Smartphone Design Cycle

Omar Zahran
The Startup
Published in
11 min readMay 27, 2020

--

Black framed eyeglasses on top of laptop
Image Credit: Jesus Kitwque via Unsplash

I have admitted this before, but I watch a lot of tech YouTube content. It is perhaps a statement on my tech obsession, but there is another reason why I watch these videos. I am often inspired by the commentary from some of these creators. This was the case the other day as I was watching an excellent video from tech personality, Juan Carlos Bagnell. The video was an open letter to smartphone manufacturers, to stop making phones every year and instead to focus on a 2 year refresh period. I thought Juan made some great points in the video, and have some thoughts as to why Android phone manufacturers should take this approach.

The Auto Industry Model

Red Chevrolet vehicle
Image Credit: Artur Aldyrkhanov via Unsplash

Maybe living in the Metro Detroit area for the last decade and a half has done this to my mind, but I often feel that there are a lot of parallels between the auto industry and the cell phone industry. Both products are essential to most people’s way of life, both have a retail dynamic that is reliant on direct and indirect selling, and most people are very uninformed on the nuts and bolts of the product. With that being said, one thing that the automotive market does…

--

--

Omar Zahran
The Startup

Freelance sports writer fascinated by the stories that our favorite teams and athletes present to us