It’s My First Day of Self-Employment, What The Hell Do I Do!?

Tom Stevenson
The Startup
Published in
5 min readOct 29, 2018

--

Today is a day I have dreamed of for as long as I can remember.

Ever since I can remember, I have wanted to work for myself in some form or another.

Back when I was younger, this was a pipe dream, but as I got older, and realised my travels could be monetised through my travel blog, the dream started to flesh out.

It’s taken a lot of hard work to get to this stage. Even now, I would still consider working for myself as a gamble. There is still a chance it could go wrong.

However, it’s one I had to take. The only problem is…

I don’t know what the hell to do with my time!

I woke up this morning in a haze and forgot I wouldn’t be going back to the office job I detested.

I was eating breakfast when it dawned on me, that I work for myself after quitting! While this thought brought a brief wave of excitement, it also brought with it a jarring reality.

That as much as I have wanted this day to arrive, I haven’t paid much thought to what I would actually do when it arrives.

So, I have spent today in a bewildered state trying to figure out what to do, when you have no one to tell you what to do, apart from yourself!

--

--